I grew up in Winnie, Texas.  Not many people have ever heard of this town.  If they have, it is all about the restaurant there, Al-T’s Steakhouse.  It is hilarious to me because I see all my friends checking in there every time they go past Winnie on the way to Louisiana or on the way home.  It is a Tourist destination.  However, I want to tell them how people from Winnie do not go there.  The food is disgusting!  Well, their breakfast is pretty good but other than that, their food does not compare to any of the coon-ass families I grew up eating dinner with.

I have people over quite often for dinner.  Several weeks ago, I was making gumbo and had my rice cooker out.  Everyone was asking what it was.  When Jordan has friends over, they always ask what that big white thing is.  Even she is shocked!  I have to pat myself on the back.  Since leaving Winnie, I do not eat near as much rice as the normal Winnie person does but I could not live without my rice cooker.

Last week, I went to visit my Winnie friends.  While I was getting me some rice for my Etoufee out of the second full rice cooker, I told my story how people in Pearland have never seen a rice cooker.  We all laugh and they remind me I was born in Rice county where Rice is a food group.

Since I have learned to cook, I have invested in numerous small electronics.  Some are amazing.  Some, like the Rice cooker, I could not live without.  You can cook an entire meal in the rice cooker.  It has a steaming tray on top with holes.

For instance, last night, I was making my rice to side with my gumbo.  In the top tray, I seasoned some fish and fresh broccoli.  While the rice was stealing I was also cooking my lunch for today.  I have also made Quinoa in it.  I have no idea why this is not on the counter of every home.  I had a friend who never cooks and finally did her first meal in six years the other day.  She was so proud of herself.  She said she bought herself a steamer and it made things so easy.  After describing it to me, I said, “oh you bought a rice cooker?”

